---
title: Manage collaborators in Feature Experimentation
slug: feature-experimentation/docs/manage-collaborators-in-feature-experimentation
docTags: 
createdAt: 2026-08-05T20:39:55.000Z
---

- Optimizely Feature Experimentation

Invite collaborators to your Optimizely Feature Experimentation project to let your team manage flags and experiments. After adding your teammates as collaborators, you can give them [Granular roles and permissions](docId\:VfzalP5Ep4rqE-gTd6p7m) to set fine-grained access controls for the entities in your project.

:::hint{type="warning"}
**Important**

If your organization migrated to Opti ID, you must manage users in Opti ID. See [Manage roles and permissions in Opti ID](docId\:JFUHTBNII9aEDWYXFHos-) and other [user management options in the Opti ID Admin Center](docId\:VBLJux5kON1IQDdOU04cF).
:::

## Collaborators

Collaborators are users who

- log in to the Optimizely application.
- utilize an Optimizely Feature Experimentation API where authentication is required.
- somehow interact with an Optimizely interface by logging in or through an API.

People who maintain Optimizely code in a codebase but never log in or use credentials within Optimizely are not considered collaborators.

## Invite collaborators

1. Go to **Settings > Collaborators**.
2. Click **Invite a Collaborator**. 

   ![af7cf61-add-collaborator-fx.png](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/NFb5L_o3ng-_5GbovWHWw-20260720-145746.png)
3. Enter the email addresses of your collaborator, select their [permission](docId\:bNAxj4srKHVczBp27i1DH) levels, and select the language. You can also invite collaborators to multiple projects at once.
4. (Optional) Click **Plus** to add additional collaborators. 

   ![f7de942-invite-collaborators-pop-up-fx.png](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/NcAKBh1ULAwrcTt0_Hbqn-20260720-145746.png)

## Permissions

Each role includes the permissions for the one before it.

- **Viewer** – Read-only access and cannot modify flags or rules.
- **Editor**
  - **Non-production environments (like Development or Staging)** – Can manage flags and rules.
  - **Production environments (Primary environment)** – Can manage flags and rules but cannot launch flags. When the flag is turned on by a **Publisher** or higher, an **Editor** cannot turn the flag off, pause a rule, adjust traffic, change the variations, add or remove metrics, or change audiences.

    :::hint{type="info"}
    **Note**

    In the primary (production) environment, **Editors** can only create rules before the ruleset is published. After publishing, **Editors** cannot modify the ruleset.
    :::

:::Paragraph{indent="1"}
See [Manage environments](docId\:YpSOMYlWkUccLCL-uB-ZE) for information.
:::

- **Publisher** – Can launch flag rules in production (primary) environments.
- **Project Owner** and **Administrator** – Full permissions and can manage account settings.

:::hint{type="info"}
**Note**

To let users create [multiple experiments per flag](docId\:F8tdFPnxECabBXsQkBqDt), you must grant the collaborator the `flags_multiple_experiments` permission.
:::

| Actions                                                       | Administrator | Project Owner | Publisher | Editor   | Viewer |
| ------------------------------------------------------------- | ------------- | ------------- | --------- | -------- | ------ |
| Experiments (create, edit, start, pause, archive)             | Yes           | Yes           | Yes       | Yes \*   | No     |
| Variations (create, edit, re-allocate traffic, pause, delete) | Yes           | Yes           | Yes       | Yes \*   | No     |
| Flags (create, edit, archive)                                 | Yes           | Yes           | Yes       | Yes \*   | No     |
| Variable keys (create, edit, delete)                          | Yes           | Yes           | Yes       | Yes \*   | No     |
| Traffic allocation (edit)                                     | Yes           | Yes           | Yes       | Yes \*   | No     |
| Events (create, edit, archive)                                | Yes           | Yes           | Yes       | Yes \*   | No     |
| Audiences (create, edit, archive)                             | Yes           | Yes           | Yes       | Yes \*\* | No     |
| Add specific users (add users, edit, delete)                  | Yes           | Yes           | Yes       | Yes \*   | No     |
| Attributes (create, edit, archive)                            | Yes           | Yes           | Yes       | Yes \*   | No     |
| Collaborators (invite, edit, delete)                          | Yes           | Yes           | No        | No       | No     |
| Environments (create, edit, archive)                          | Yes           | Yes           | No        | No       | No     |
| Webhooks (create, delete)                                     | Yes           | Yes           | No        | No       | No     |
| Integrations (create, edit, delete)                           | Yes           | Yes           | No        | No       | No     |
| Reset results                                                 | Yes           | Yes           | Yes       | No       | No     |
| Mutual exclusion groups (create, edit, delete)                | Yes           | Yes           | Yes       | Yes      | No     |
| Global holdouts (create, edit, delete)                        | Yes           | Yes           | Yes       | Yes      | No     |

\* In production environments, **Editors** can create flags and rules but cannot launch a flag, pause a rule, adjust traffic, change the variations, add or remove metrics, or change audiences.

In non-production environments, **Editors** have full access to all aspects of flags and rules. You should use the **Editor** role to restrict access to production environments while allowing full access to development or staging environments.

\*\* **Editors** can edit audiences in flags set to **Draft**. But, once the flag is started and updated to **Running**, you need to be a **Publisher** or higher in order to edit the audience. If the flag is changed to **Paused**, **Editors** can edit audiences again. See [Manage flags](docId\:F8tdFPnxECabBXsQkBqDt) for information on flag statuses.

## Update a collaborator's permissions

1. Go to **Settings > Collaborators**.
2. Click on a collaborator.
3. Select the new role from the **Role** drop-down list. 

   ![bc1c5e3-update-rold.png](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/nLdUR1kBuUc-rXAhWi9DJ-20260720-145746.png)

## Remove collaborators

1. Go to **Settings > Collaborators**.
2. Click on a collaborator.
3. Click **Remove From Project** or **Remove From Account** in the collaborator details.
   - **Remove From Project** – Removes the collaborator from the selected project.
   - **Remove From Account** – Removes the collaborator's access to all projects.

     ![371af51-remove-collaborator.png](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/vq3jBGDL5uDzqUXGYw-eN-20260720-145746.png)

## Set granular roles

After adding collaborators to your project, use [Granular roles and permissions](docId\:VfzalP5Ep4rqE-gTd6p7m) to set access control to the environments and flags in your project.
