---
title: Manage users and teams
slug: content-marketing-platform/docs/manage-users-and-teams
docTags: 
createdAt: 2026-07-20T15:44:29.366Z
---

:::hint{type="info"}
**Note**

Opti ID is available for CMP and provides single sign-on (SSO) access to CMP. If your organization migrated to Opti ID, you must manage users in Opti ID. See the [Opti ID](docId\:gfcl33i3WnqFAwFi9CT6y) user documentation.
:::

Manage users and teams in your organization. Admins can add and delete users to Optimizely Content Marketing Platform (CMP). You can also group your users into teams within CMP.

:::hint{type="warning"}
**Important**

If you are on Opti ID, the CMP Admin role does not enable you to manage users. To manage users, you must also have the [Opti ID Admin Center Super Admin, Product Admin, or Instance Admin role](docId\:CnfX0UHNnS3Fxmc9e2SEu).
:::

## Manage users

:::hint{type="info"}
**Note**

Admins or users with **Manage Users** access can invite users and give them access to your instance. See [Manage permissions and custom roles](docId:-q-WHVNJMPp_f4eesUQc9).
:::

Click your avatar and select **Users & Teams**. The **User Management** page displays.

![Users-Teams-a.png](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/qqe-ayeRiZCtpBGM_vaei-20260720-145919.png)

To invite a user, in the **Invite Teammates** section:

1. Enter an email address in the text box.
2. Select their user role.
3. Click **Invite**.

You can assign a custom role or one of the following standard roles:

- **Admin** – Can access everything and can view and modify any tasks. Admins can also manage users, teams, workflows, and other organization settings.

  :::hint{type="warning"}
  **Important**

  If you are on Opti ID, the CMP Admin role does not enable you to manage users. To manage users, you must also have the [Opti ID Admin Center Super Admin, Product Admin, or Instance Admin role](docId\:CnfX0UHNnS3Fxmc9e2SEu).
  :::
- **Creators** – Can access the entire platform except administrative settings. They can create and contribute to campaigns and tasks.
- **Collaborators** – Can access work assigned to them or if work has a shared campaign or task. They cannot create campaigns or tasks. 
- **Guest** – Can only submit requests and view the requests module. Within the requests module, they can manage their submitted requests and see where requests are in the queue. 
- **Library View-Only** – Can see, search, and download assets only in the library module.

![Users-Teams-b.png](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/mT0LK66VBv8zo5MoxpAOe-20260720-145919.png)

![Users-Teams-c.png](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/FX54iZsslX42sXzO4288G-20260720-145919.png)

After you send the invitation, the invited user receives an email notification to join. When the user clicks **Join my team**, a sign-up page displays.

The user enters the required information on the sign-up page and clicks **Continue** to complete the registration process and access Optimizely Content Marketing Platform.

## Delete users 

:::hint{type="info"}
**Note**

Admins or users with **Manage Users** access can remove user access to CMP by deleting users. See [Manage permissions and custom roles](docId:-q-WHVNJMPp_f4eesUQc9).
:::

To delete a user: 

1. Go to your avatar > **Users & Teams** > **Users**.
2. Click **More** (**...**) > **Delete user**.

   ![](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/xytgMvTmwGK0h_0ZbhWxK-20260720-145919.png)

Deleted users cannot log in or receive notification emails from CMP. CMP removes their names from user lists. Deleted users are not displayed in the **Assignee** and **Comment** drop-down lists for any work in CMP. Any tagged work or information that a deleted user previously created or modified and comments that a deleted user remains unchanged. 

![](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/IBOArLPqevPmckveTQWub-20260720-145919.png)

You can use the **Assignee** filter to search for work assigned to a deleted user:

1. Go to **Plan**.
2. Click **Filters** to expand the filters column and select **Assignees**.
3. Toggle on **Include Deleted User**.

   ![](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/WR2Gkzjub3Pk6osYwnk2_-20260720-145919.png)

## Manage teams

A team is a group of users with delegated responsibilities in workflows.

:::hint{type="warning"}
**Important**

If your organization migrated to Opti ID, you must [manage teams in Opti ID](docId:_xCHCb_chURG1zZoya5e9). The create team functionality in CMP redirects you to Opti ID.
:::

To create a team in CMP, complete the following:

1. Select the **Teams** tab and click **Create Team**.

   ![Users-Teams-d.png](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/qLt_ZpLLuGDaVaFHQvX18-20260720-145919.png)
2. Enter a team name.
3. Enter the email address or usernames of the team member. These names display below after you add them. You can remove a member from the team. Click **Create Team** when you are done.

   ![Users-Teams-e.png](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/HCNK8lTEUMLEYdlaOdJIl-20260720-145919.png)
4. Click **Edit** to edit a team.

   ![](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/qcmqSe0bfpBmmk8QWvKkl-20260720-145919.png)

:::Paragraph{indent="1"}
You can add and remove members or delete the team.
:::

::Image[]{src="https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/1MeCiZD45jSJ5SuHQqQHy-20260720-145919.png" size="100" alt="Users-Teams-f.png" isUploading="false" showCaption="false" indent="2"}
