---
title: Manage asset versions
slug: content-marketing-platform/docs/manage-asset-versions
docTags: 
createdAt: 2026-07-20T15:44:51.989Z
---

Asset versioning in Optimizely Content Marketing Platform lets you create and track updates to files in the library to maintain governance across the content your entire team is using. 

:::hint{type="info"}
You should allow all subdomains of `cmp.optimizely.com`, `welcomesoftware.com`, `newscred.com`, and `s3.amazonaws.com` to avoid issues when uploading files.
:::

## Upload version to the library

When you create a version of an asset outside of Optimizely Content Marketing Platform (CMP), users can upload a version directly to the library without creating a task. To upload a version to the library, follow the steps below:

1. Click an asset to see its details.
2. Click **More (...) > Versions & History**.

   ![Asset - Versions and History.png](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/wBmd_9fhCA2O4qDUO7a2c-20260720-145837.png)
3. Click the **Add** icon to upload another version.

   ![Asset - Add version.png](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/dIB4anmkPF3iRDbeRADci-20260720-145837.png)
4. Select the file on your device and click **Open**. 

You can then click on the version you want to view.

:::hint{type="info"}
**Note**
:::

## Update an existing asset from a task

When you collaborate and create an asset version in CMP, users can create a version of an asset using a task (and associated workflow). To create an asset version using a task, choose one of the following:

1. Click an asset to expand the detail view.
2. Click **Create Task** to begin work on the asset.

   ::Image[]{src="https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/H3LK2HlqYxA57C5IsxYBt-20260720-145837.png" size="60" alt="Manage-asset-versions-4.png" isUploading="false" showCaption="false" width="582" height="764" darkWidth="582" darkHeight="764"}
3. On the **Content** tab of your task, click **Add Content** and select **library** from the menu.

   ::Image[]{src="https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/sfaV5tY-fBY6JSdsH766q-20260720-145837.png" size="40" alt="Manage-asset-versions-5.png" isUploading="false" showCaption="false" width="190" height="408" darkWidth="190" darkHeight="408"}
4. Select the assets you want and click **Choose**.

   ![Manage-asset-versions-6.png](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/qqJ0zlwTOM2QwonsQfufV-20260720-145837.png)

:::Paragraph{indent="1"}
The assets displays in the **Content** tab of the task.
:::

::Image[]{src="https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/s8ukubs0fcHNLQxitjm7m-20260720-145837.png" size="100" alt="Manage-asset-versions-7.png" isUploading="false" showCaption="false" width="571" height="246" darkWidth="571" darkHeight="246" indent="2"}

If the asset is changed while working on the task, when you push the asset to the library, you can choose one of the following options:

## Push an asset to the library from a task

1. Go to the **Content** tab and click on the grid view.
2. Click **More (...)** on an asset and select **Save to Library**, which saves the asset as a version in the library. Deselect **Save to Library** to associate the asset with the task only.

   ![Manage-asset-versions-8.png](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/BZVFQlfe7ZvgYymfR8Y3U-20260720-145837.png)

## View the history of an asset

The asset history shows a record of the activity on an asset. Use it to see who changed an asset and when, for example, to respond to an audit or investigate an unexpected change. Each entry displays the user who made the change and the time of the change. Any user with access to an asset can view its history.

The asset history records the following activity:

- Metadata edits
- File replacements
- Status changes
- Permission updates
- Downloads

To view the history of an asset, open the asset and expand **History**.

::Image[]{src="https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/I-pBmTLw5SbAfCNUKQFI0_asset-history.png" size="50" alt="Asset history" isUploading="false" width="773" height="1835" darkWidth="773" darkHeight="1835" showCaption="false"}

## Comment and annotate an asset

Within the asset version view, you can also leave feedback for your team about the asset version you are previewing. Comments and annotations are specific to a version.

- **Comment** – Enter feedback about the image.
- **Annotation** – Click a spot on the image and a number displays to draw attention to something for which you add your feedback.

![Manage-asset-versions-11.png](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/3QJ4VFMWtFHbJYcbxnmq4-20260720-145837.png)

- Select **Show Resolved** to see resolved comments. Deselect to hide comments.
- Select **Show Annotations** to see resolved annotations. Deselect to hide annotations.
- Click **Resolved** (checkmark) to resolve a comment or annotation. You can click **Re-Open** to bring the comment or annotation back.

  ::Image[]{src="https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/bWgDM6HPJcDN5ROCXJsD--20260720-145837.png" size="50" alt="Manage-asset-versions-resolve-comments.png" isUploading="false" showCaption="false" width="317" height="479" darkWidth="317" darkHeight="479"}

## Download asset versions

To download an asset version, click the **Download** icon by the image. To download all asset versions, click **More (...) > Download All Versions**.

## Delete an asset version

Click the **Delete** icon by the image.

:::hint{type="info"}
**Note**

The version numbers do not change after a deletion. If there are three versions and you delete the second, the third version is still labeled V3 to ensure accurate lineage and extension to feeds and API delivery.
:::

## Renditions

When a user adds a new version of an asset to the **Library**, you can set CMP to overwrite existing renditions with renditions of the latest asset version. If the URL to a rendition is used elsewhere, the URL remains the same and automatically updates to the new rendition.

To configure this option, click the drop-down list beside your icon and click **Asset Management**. Under **Renditions**, select **Overrides Latest Version**.

You can turn off this feature by deselecting the checkbox.

See [Image renditions](docId\:meM_3BbbNzATr44dEKqzC) and [Video renditions](docId\:CmY66pbDuaDXnOysrgOE4) for information.
