---
title: Delete and restore content
slug: cms-12/docs/delete-and-restore-content
createdAt: 2026-08-10T15:56:02.000Z
---

Optimizely Content Management System (CMS) has advanced support for restoring deleted content such as pages, blocks, folders, and media files. When you remove content, you move it to trash; you do not delete it. From there, you can restore the content or permanently delete it.

![you can restore
the content or permanently delete it](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/sG_107OyPWbDklh4e6Ii8-20260720-145511.png)

:::hint{type="info"}
**Note**

Optimizely Commerce Connect does not support trash management when [deleting catalog entries](../../commerce-connect/catalogs/edit-catalog-entries.mdx).
:::

## Move content to trash

Select the content to delete and **Move to Trash** from the context menu.

Content that is moved to trash is automatically unpublished from the website. When moving content to trash, you receive a notification if the content is linked to from other content on the website because the deletion might result in broken links.

![Content that is moved to trash is automatically unpublished from the website.](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/7le-m3_zCteaRVziWkFzt-20260720-145511.png)

:::hint{type="info"}
**Note**

Content versions are not supported by trash management. So, when deleting a version in the [versions gadget](docId\:wv4E12dJGXVlrYYjDEQIi), the version is permanently deleted.
:::

## Restore content

1. Select **View Trash** from the panel settings in the navigation or assets panel.

   ![View Trash](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/KdR3fPe9owZ9CMTTFbvNB-20260720-145511.png)
2. Hover over the desired content item in the list and click **Restore**. Confirm the restoration, and the content is restored to its original place and republished. (You must restore content before you can edit it.)

   ![Restore content](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/KJVOrxB3nF_hlItCCeRni-20260720-145511.png)

## Delete content permanently

Select **View Trash** from the panel settings in the navigation or assets panel. Click **Empty Trash** to delete the trash content permanently (may require administrative access rights). Using a scheduled job, you can automatically empty the trash regularly.

If you want to delete just one item, hover over the item and click **Delete**. If that single item has children, these children are also deleted permanently.
