---
title: Add users and groups
slug: cms-12/docs/add-users-and-groups
docTags: 
createdAt: 2026-08-10T15:55:57.000Z
---

:::hint{type="info"}
**Note**

This topic is for CMS administrators and developers with administrative access rights.

If your organization migrated to Opti ID, you must manage users in Opti ID. See the [Opti ID](docId\:gfcl33i3WnqFAwFi9CT6y) user documentation.

- To add users with Opti ID, see [Users](../../opti-id/manage-the-admin-center/manage-users.mdx) in the Opti ID documentation.
- To add groups with Opti ID, see [Groups](../../opti-id/manage-the-admin-center/manage-groups.mdx) in the Opti ID documentation.

You can still manage roles inside CMS 12 (PaaS), but those roles are not available to Opti ID users. CMS (PaaS) roles would typically be used for end users (site visitors, your customers); not the business users that access the CMS structural components and user interface (editors and administrators).
:::

For easier and safer maintenance, you should base [access rights](docId:23ZJ8a6KApzuAsgnpdnvr) on **user groups** rather than individual users.

You can administer user credentials in the following ways:

- Manage users and user groups from the Optimizely Content Management System (CMS) **Settings** view.
- Manage users and user groups in Windows.
- Develop a customized role and membership provider.

:::hint{type="info"}
**Note**

Users and groups created in the CMS **Settings** view are available from the **Settings** view only; they are not accessible from Windows. You cannot add users created in Windows to groups created in Optimizely. See [Virtual roles](docId\:bljDLBBGKc--Mc5elUwQm) for information about working with membership and role providers.
:::

Smaller organizations with few editors tend to use the CMS administration view, whereas larger organizations with many editors tend to use the other options. You can combine these options.

## Create, edit, and delete users

To add a user in the CMS, do the following:

1. Go to **Settings > Administer Users**.
2. Click **Create User**.

   ![create user](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/gZ9SgMcOhnd57EjULdsIc-20260720-145529.png)

   - Specify a username, password, and email address and set the account to **Active**.
   - Select none or more [user groups](docId\:MbjzWcQ6ZDxh45qzgwYLK) to which the user should belong.
3. Under the **Display Options** tab, specify a default [language for the user interface](docId:89lPr8Ur8RZ1ywZGIr-6K) (optional) and [touch support](docId\:YIZnzc-8Cwpn-sWPBCasn).

   ![default language for user](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/5cXBERH1YyJK7lSyIas2K-20260720-145529.png)
4. Click **Save**.

To **edit** user settings, search for the user under **Search User/Group** and click a user name. You can modify properties only for users created through self-registration or with **Create User** in CMS.

To **delete** a user, search for the user under **Search User/Group**, click a user name to edit the settings, and click **Delete**. You cannot undo a deletion of a user.

### Display members of a user group

1. Go to **Settings > Administer Groups**.

   ![Administer groups.png](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/pc47COLnca448re-0DKBT-20260720-145529.png)
2. Select a group to view its members.

   ![View groups as Admin](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/BrbvVORKJ5iIeSMZye5kI/f_SFXNKgBBSoA3nazLozo-20260720-145529.png)

   - To see all users or groups, leave the **Search** field blank.
   - Type one or more letters in the Search field to see a subset of users or groups. Any names that have the string in them display in the list.

## Create and delete groups in CMS

When you select **Administer Groups** in **Settings** view, groups are shown irrespective of the provider used on the website. The group provider is shown next to the group name.

- Click **Create** to create a user group, enter a name, and save your changes.
- Select **Delete** from a group's menu to delete a user group.

  :::hint{type="danger"}
  **Warning**

  You can delete only user groups that were created from the CMS. You cannot recover a user group after you delete it.
  :::

:::hint{type="info"}
**Note**

You cannot change the name of an existing group. Instead, delete the group and add one.
:::
