---
title: Connect for Microsoft Dynamics CRM
slug: cms-11/dev-docs/connect-for-microsoft-dynamics-crm
docTags: 
createdAt: 2026-07-22T19:45:20.282Z
---

## Prerequisites

- An Optimizely Content Management System (CMS) installation with Optimizely Forms and the required Marketing Automation connector components. See [Optimizely Connect for Marketing Automation](docId\:V1RAjPIyOupABDcYTiJqi).

## Install

Install the **Connect for Microsoft Dynamics CRM MA connector** through the NuGet package [EPiServer.MarketingAutomationIntegration.MSDynamics](http://nuget.episerver.com/package?id=EPiServer.MarketingAutomationIntegration.MSDynamics). See [Add-ons platform compatibility](docId\:bXYbY3IauDz9fts3sKR_c) for supported Optimizely versions.

:::hint{type="info"}
**Note**
You must be running .NET framework 4.5.2. The add-on is verified on Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2013.
:::

## Configure

You need to configure your Optimizely website to use Microsoft Dynamics CRM. You need a username, password, domain, organization, and CRM address associated with your Microsoft Dynamics CRM account. Connect form fields with Microsoft Dynamics CRM to send data from the specified fields to Microsoft Dynamics CRM.

These configurations are described in [Microsoft Dynamics CRM connector](docId\:gwZS05UqB-Cv1Ir5xcvfd) in the Optimizely User Guide.

## Encrypt credentials

Credentials are encrypted and saved based on one of the following options:

- `MAICryptoKey` (AES encryption with a SHA256-computer hash based on the value of the key)
- `machineKey` of the server in `web.config`.

:::hint{type="info"}
**Note**
For DXP instances, use `MAICryptoKey`.
:::

If you choose to use `machineKey` configuration, you should specify a `machineKey` in the `web.config` of your site so that the same machine key is used on the new server when you deploy it to a different server.

:::hint{type="info"}
**Note**
If you neglect to specify a `machineKey` in the `web.config`, the credentials are removed when the site on the new server is accessed for the first time, in which case you need to save credentials again through the configuration screen.
:::

If the credentials are already encrypted using `machineKey` in an existing site, and you add the `MAICryptoKey` setting, then the credentials are deleted, and you must re-enter them.

Similarly, if the encryption uses `MAICryptoKey` first and then you decide to use `machineKey` encryption (by deleting the `MAICryptoKey` setting), then the credentials are deleted and must be re-entered.
